The convicted 6 who may decide UPA’s fate

via published on July 18, 2008

Among those who hold the key to the survival or fall of the government on July 22 are six jailed MPs, some convicted on serious charges like murder, others accused of heinous crimes. Check out the men who both sides are seeking to woo to win that day.

1) Pappu Yadav alias Rajesh Ranjan


, Purnea, Bihar

SENTENCED in Feb 2008 for life for murder of former CPM MLA Ajit Sarkar in 1998.


2) Suraj Bhan

, Balia, Bihar

SENTENCED To life last month for murder of a farmer in 1992.


3) Ateeq Ahmad

Phulphur, Uttar Pradesh

Charged in: 21 criminal cases, including some involving murder. One such was the murder of Bhartiya Samajwadi Party MLA Raju Pal in 2005.


4) Afzal Ansari

Samajwadi Party, Ghazipur, UP

Brother of Uttar Pradesh don Mukhtar Ansari. In jail facing charges in murder of Bhartiya Samajwadi Party MLA Krishanand Rai in 2005.

5) Umakant Yadav

BSP, Machhlishahr, Uttar Pradesh

Jailed for allegedly razing shops and houses while trying to forcibly occupy land in Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh in 2007.

6) Mohd Shahabuddin , RJD, Siwan, Bihar

Convicted in: 3 cases between March and August 2007: life term for kidnapping leading to murder of a trader in 1999, 10 yrs for attack on Siwan SP in 1996 and 2 yrs for attack on CPI(ML) office in 1998.


Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

9 + nine =


Latest Articles from Bharath Focus

Did You Know?