RSS Chief holds marathon in-camera conclave

via TOI published on February 5, 2012

PATNA: On the second day of his ‘Prawas Yatra’ in Bihar, Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS) chief Mohan Bhagwat on Saturday held a marathon in-camera conclave of the Sangh’s “representative in charge” of around a dozen of its affiliated organizations in the state, including BJP, to have an update on their activities and discuss the future steps for spreading their reach.

About 120 of these representatives, who make the Sangh’s core state coordination committee, attended the conclave. Each of them presented updates on the activities of their respective organizations.

Incidentally, the activities and reach of the RSS has increased progressively in the state in the last 10 years. The state BJP has made around 25 lakh new members in Bihar

“As per the agenda, only discussions were held and no decisions were taken. In fact, no decision is taken during the ‘Prawas Yatra’ of our organisational head,” said a RSS source, implying that the future guidelines, if any, would be conveyed for action only later.

Bhagwat arrived here on Friday to discuss matters related to the activities of various organizations in South Bihar. He would stay in Patna for the next two days. The headquarters of North Bihar wing of the RSS is at Bhagalpur. By the Sangh’s convention, the RSS chief visits every state once a year for discussions with the organisational units of that particular state.

At the Saturday’s conclave, the RSS representatives present were associated with organizations such as Vidya Bharti, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Saksham, Swadeshi Jagran Manch, Bharatiya Majdoor Sangh, Bajrang Dal and Bharatiya Kisan Sangh, among others.

Among the state BJP leaders present at the conclave were the BJP’s core committee members – state chief Dr C P Thakur, former state chief Radha Mohan Singh and minister Ashwini Kumar Choubey – besides the RSS representative in the party as its secretary (organization), Nagendraji. The two other core committee members – deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi and road construction minister Nand Kishore Yadav – could not participate as they were scheduled to attend other meetings decided earlier, said a state Sangh functionary. The party’s national vice-president Kiran Ghai and state general secretary Rajendra Gupta, both MLCs, were also present.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

10 + 10 =

Latest Articles from Bharath Focus

Did You Know?