Modi Magic continues in Bye Polls – Left over Congress citadels too to Saffron camp

published on June 4, 2013

BJP has achieved massive success in Gujarat by-polls. The party has won both Lok Sabha seats that went to by-poll on 2nd June. Both seats were previously occupied by Congress.

In Porbandar. BJP candidate Vitthal Radadia won the by-poll with margin of over one lakh votes defeating rival Congress candidate Vinubhai Amipara. Radadia won Porbandar Lok Sabha poll in year 2009 general elections of Lok Sabha. Later he contested Dhoraji assembly election and won. To retain Dhoraji seat, he resigned from Lok Sabha. Later Radadia joined BJP and resigned from Dhoraji assembly seat. He contested Porbandar Lok Sabha seat again, but this time on BJP ticket.

In Banaskantha, BJP candidate and former MP Haribhai Chaudhary won the election with margin of over 50,000 votes. Haribhai was defeated by Congress candidate late Shri Mukesh Gadhvi in previous elections. Sudden death of Mr. Gadhvi caused by-poll on Banaskantha Lok Sabha seat. Congress had given ticket to late Shri Gadvhi’s widow Krishnaben Gadhvi. BJP once again fielded Haribhai. A man with simple nature, Haribhai mixes with common man very easily. There’s no doubt that an excellent person has been added to Lok Sabha members list.

Soon after his victory with huge margin of over 50,000 votes in Banaskantha Lok Sabha by-poll, winning candidate of BJP Shri Haribhai Chaudhary announced his decision that he would not hold a victory procession.

Haribhai said he would not hold a victory procession to respect late Congress MP Shri Mukesh Gadhvi whose sudden death caused by-poll here. Decision of not holding victory procession was also taken considering the fact that late MP Mukesh Gadhvi’s widow Krishnaben Gadhvi was Congress candidate here.

Assembly Polls

 The initial trends suggest that BJP is likely to win all six seats including two Lok Sabha seats. Interestingly all these seats were occupied by Congress in previous election.

On Limbdi assembly seat Kiritsinh Rana is ahead by margin of over 21,000 votes
On Morwa Hadaf seat, BJP’s Nimishaben Suthar is ahead by margin of over 8,000 votes
On Jetpur assembly seat, BJP’s Jayesh Radadia is ahead with margin of around 17,000 votes.
On Dhoraji assembly seat, BJP’s Pravin Mankadia is ahead with margin of around 8,000 votes.

For Updates visit

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

five × 3 =


Latest Articles from Bharath Focus

Did You Know?