Ganesan to head Tamilnadu BJP

via published on September 23, 2006

BJP senior leader L Ganesan has been unanimously elected as the party’s Tamilnadu president.

Former Union Minister and the party’s central election observer Ram Nayak announced this at the BJP general council meeting held at Royapuram, Chennai, today.

In view of the expiry of the three-year-long tenure of C P Radhakrishnan as the party president for Tamilnadu, elections were announced.

Though the names of other senior leaders were speculated upon earlier, none filed nominations for the post except Ganesan. Other nominations filed were also in the name of Ganesan only.

Following this, the election outcome of appointing the senior leader as the party’s State wing president was formally announced by poll observer Ram Naik.

Other leaders of the party including Venkaiah Naidu, C P Radhakrishnan, S Thirunavukkarasar, Pon Radhakrishnan and H Raja greeted Ganesan. Later, speaking at the general council meeting, Ram Nayak said the intra- party polls were being conducted in a democratic way and said the election for the national president would take place in December.

He asked the members to work for the victory of the BJP in the forthcoming local body elections. Ram Nayak also released the list of 39 newly elected national committee members from the State.

In his address, national vice president of the party Venkaiah Naidu said the country was facing trouble under the UPA regime.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

2 × two =

Latest Articles from Bharath Focus

Did You Know?