Election Result Updates

published on March 6, 2012


The Samajwadi Party is all set to form the next government in Uttar Pradesh. Riding on a wave in its favour, the Mulayam Singh-led SP has won/leads in 224 out of the total 403 seats.

The Bahujan Samaj Party, which had secured a majority of its own in 2007, has been routed this time around with wins/leads in only 80 seats. Of the others, the BJP’s results/leads are average at 47 seats.

However, the biggest upset has been the dismal performance of Congress, especially in Uttar Pradesh. Gandhi family scion Rahul Gandhi had personally micro-managed the poll campaign and had staked his prestige to see his party emerge from its 22-year hibernation in the politically crucial state. The Congress combine will have to be contended with just 28 seats


 BJP won a simple majority in the Goa assembly elections with 21 seats, and was poised to form the government with alliance partner Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP).
The combine trounced the ruling Congress-Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) alliance in the 40-member Goa legislative assembly.While the BJP won 21 seats, its partner MGP won three seats. This is the first time that the BJP has won a simple majority in assembly polls here.

Punjab’s ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance created history in the state’s politics as it stunned the Congress Tuesday to retain power for a second consecutive term – the first such instance in the state.

Beating the traditional anti-incumbency factor, the combine bagged a comfortable majority with 68 seats in the 117-member Punjab assembly as results were declared. It is for the first time in over four decades that a government has been able to come back to power for a consecutive term in Punjab.


Congress came back to power in Manipur for a third consecutive time, winning a simple majority in the 60-member Assembly. The ruling party has won all the 42 constituencies, whereas the Manipur Peoples Party-led alliance has won only one seat. Others have won 17 seats. The victors among them include the Naga Peoples Front (NPF), the Trinamool Congress (TMC), the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and the Manipur State Congress Party.


Congress today has emerged as the single largest party in Uttarakhand, enjoying an edge against ruling BJP in a nailbiting finish for half way mark in the elections to the 70-member assembly. Out of the 70 seats, Congress won 28 seats and was ahead in four others while BJP bagged 28 constituencies and led in three. The biggest setback for BJP was the defeat of chief minister B C Khanduri who was defeated by S S Negi of Congress from Kotdwar seat by 4632 votes.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

twelve − eleven =


Latest Articles from Bharath Focus

Did You Know?