BJP candidate defeats Congress Chief in AP By-election

via Media Inputs published on July 30, 2010

Hyderabad: The ruling Congress party in Andhra Pradesh on Friday suffered a major setback with its state unit chief D. Srinivas losing the assembly by-election. In a repeat of the 2009 result, Srinivas was defeated by BJP’s A. Lakshminarayana by a margin of 12,200 votes in Nizamabad Urban. The result has come as a big jolt to Srinivas, who was planning to join the state cabinet and was even emerging as a possible successor to Chief Minister K. Rosaiah.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

three × two =


Latest Articles from Bharath Focus

Did You Know?