Akshardam attack:Death penalty to three terrorists

published on July 1, 2006

Ahmedabad : The Prevention Of Terrorism Act court on Saturday found guilty all six persons who had attacked the Akshardham temple in Gujarat during 2002.

Prime accussed Chand Khan, Abdul khayam, Azam Ajmeri were sentenced to death, Abdul and Mohammed Alim got 10 year Jail sentence and Altaf Malick got five years Jail sentence.

Out of the 34 accused in the case, 26 are absconding, while two terrorists involved in the attack were shot dead.

Thirty-three people, including two National Security Guard commandos, were killed and 81 injured in the attack.

Two Pakistan-based Lashkar-e-Tayiba terrorists, dressed in Indian army fatigues, stormed the Akshardham temple, run by the Akshar Purshottam Swaminarayan Sansthan and opened indiscriminate fire on devotees. National Security Guards commandos, after a nightlong gun-battle, killed both the terrorists. They were later identified as Murtuza Hafiz Yasin and Ashrafali Mohammed Farooq.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

3 × two =


Latest Articles from Bharath Focus

Did You Know?