40,000 activists from TMC, Congress & CPM in Bengal join BJP.

published on June 17, 2014
The state president of the BJP, Rahul Sinha — who held several meetings at Lodhashuli, Gopiballavpur, Nayagram and Mohanpur in Jangalmahal area on Sunday — claimed that the workers had joined the party in the hope that it would be able to counter ruling Trinamool Congress’ reign of terror in the state since the recent Lok Sabha elections.

Sinha said among those who joined his party was Antara Bhattacharjee from CPM who was the West Midnapore zilla sabhadhipati when the apex panchayat body in the district was under control of the Marxists. The zilla parishad was ruled by the CPM till 2013, when Trinamool Congress won the elections. Bhattacharjee’s house at Pingla in the district was allegedly attacked by Trinamool Congress activists during the 2013 panchayat polls. Another heavyweight Trinamool Congress leader from the district, Ashok Senapati, also joined the BJP, Sinha said.

“Trinamool Congress activists had organised a protest demonstration near Nayagram before my meeting with the disgruntled workers from different political outfits,” said Sinha. Some activists from the Jharkhand Party also joined BJP during Sinha’s visit to the area which was once a Maoist stronghold. “This was my first visit to Jangalmahal after the Lok Sabha polls and I have got tremendous response from thousands of activists who are very keen to join us. But we are not taking everyone and are using our network to know about the credentials of these disgruntled workers,” he said.

Read more at:

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available

Latest Articles from Bharath Focus

Did You Know?