Saffron Surge in Kerala Civic Polls

via HK Correspondent published on November 8, 2015

In spite of the malicious propaganda churned out by hate mills of Communists, Congress and Media, the people’s verdict has been clear- the Bharatiya Janata Party has carved a niche for itself in Kerala’s local body elections. The BJP cauldron was full of the best- a combination of Modi magic, with the central government liberally bestowing upon God’s Own Country development bounties and the sheer hard-work showcased by party workers in every nook and corner of the state. Be it anything, the political party that has managed to capture attention is none other than BJP.

Notwithstanding the mountains created out of Dadri lynching and the fables of intolerance woven specially in lieu of elections, people gave their verdict, giving BJP its biggest gain in the state’s political history. In Palakkad, the party has emerged as the single largest party, along with six councilors in Thiruvananthapuram and making a leap in the capital city’s corporation by winning 34 seats from the previously existing 6 seats and a rule in 16 Gramapanchayats- the surge is indeed historic! All this, from a mere three panchayats in Kasargode. In Kozhikode, BJP has captured 7 seats, an effort carved out zero seats. It has won 5 seats in Kollam, and 6 in Thrissur. The BJP has also opened accounts in several gramapanchayats and municipalities including Malappuram and will now take decisions regarding governance in Thiruvananthapuram and Thrissur corporations. The momentous surge by BJP is the reason for the hung verdict in several municipalities and gramapanchayats.

In a nutshell- BJP is now a formidable presence in municipalities of Ottapalam, Kunnamkulam and Thalassery . The party not only opened an account but also made its presence felt in the municipalities of  Attingal, Nedumangad, Neyyatinkara, Varkala, Karunagapally, Kottarakara, Panthalam, Thiruvalla, Kayankulam, Chengannur, Alappuzha, Harippad, Ettumanoor, Kottayam, Changanassery, Vaikom, Pala, Thodupuzha, Moovattupuzha, Aluva, Eloor, Perumbavoor, Piravam, Mannarkkad, Pattambi, Cherpulasseri, Ponnani and Kottakkal. In Vadakara, Kozhikode, BJP had a significant gain with two of its candidates winning.

Apart from this, the party opened account in Feroke and Mukkom, the new municipalities of Kozhikode, won for the first time from Sulthan Bathery, Wayanad and showed its strength by winning over many candidates of the LDF bastions of Iritty and Panoor.

BJP also won the maximum number of gramapanchayats in Kasargode district. The party is set to rule in five panchayats in Kasargode- Badiyadukka, Belur, Karaduka, Madhur, and Papaivalige, where BJP is the single largest party.

The BJP will also rule for the first time, four panchayats in Thiruvananthapuram district. It also won four panchayats in Pathanamthitta district. Lotus bloomed in Kulanada, Kuttua, Nedumpuram, Panthalam and Thekkekara panchayats . The party became the single largest party in Pavaratty and Avinisseri panchayats of Thrissur. BJP is the single largest party in Eruthempathy gramapanchayat in Palakkad.

It has also been a historic moment when BJP became the single largest party in Palakkad municipality and the second largest party in Kodungallor, Kasargod, Mavelikkara , Thrippunithura , Shornur , Thanoor and  Parappanangadi  are historic gains for BJP.

However Kannur corporation seemed to be an elusive chapter, along with Kochi where nothing significant took place.

In total, the party has 807 gramapanchayat members, 236 municipal members, 51 corporation councilors, 28 block panchayat members and 3 district panchayat members.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

seventeen + 8 =


Latest Articles from Kerala Focus

Did You Know?