For the First Time in Kerala, BJP To Rule a Municipality

PALAKKAD: The BJP candidates for the post of chairperson and vice chairman Prameela Shashidharan and C Krishnakumar were elected to the municipality here on Wednesday. They were later sworn in as chairperson and vice chairman respectively. Thus Palakkad became the first municipality in the state to be ruled by the BJP. In the elections held on Wednesday, the BJP proposed the name of Prameela Shashidharan who was elected from Puthur North (ward 13) and it was seconded by N Sivarajan and C Krishnakumar, both BJP councillors. The UDF proposed the name of C S Priya (11 ward) which was seconded by K Bhavadas and Habeeba. The LDF proposed the name of Kumari (30th ward) who was seconded by Abdul Shukoor and Sujatha.

In the first round, Prameela got 24 votes, C S Priya 18 and Kumari 10 votes. The lone welfare party candidate Sowriyath Sulaiman voted for LDF candidate Kumari. Subsequently, prior to the second round, the LDF councillors walked out of the council hall. However, Sowriyath Sulaiman stayed back and voted for Priya of the UDF in the second round. Prameela was declared elected after she got 24 and Priya of the UDF 19 votes. In the afternoon, C Krishnakumar of the BJP was elected as vice chairman with 24 votes as against M Sahida of the IUML with 19 votes.


Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

11 + 1 =

Latest Articles from Kerala Focus

Did You Know?