BJP’s Performance in Kerala

published on May 18, 2014

Rajagopal Got Good Share of Votes Despite Defeat

By N V Ravindranathan Nair – ENS

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Despite a valiant fight, BJP’s old war horse O Rajagopal could not make it this time too. But he took the fight literally to a photo finish till 75 per cent of votes were counted.

Though Rajagopal had to accept defeat to Shashi Tharoor by a margin of 15,470 votes, the BJP could hold its head high in esteem.

Rajagopal could garner 2,82,336 votes, an all-time high for a BJP candidate in the Lok Saba election in the state.

In 2004, Rajagopal garnered over 2,28,000 votes to come to a close third. This time it has got 32.37 per cent votes. Rajagopal could establish a lead in Nemom, Vattiyoorkkavu, Thiruvananthapuram and Kazhakoottam constituencies.

Speaking to Express, BJP state president V Muralidharan said that the party’s vote share increased from 6.03 per cent to 10.83 per cent.

It could gain over 15 per cent votes in Palakkad, Pathanamthitta (16 per cent), and Kasaragod (16.75 per cent).

“We expected to win from here. But we couldn’t. But compared to last time, we could increase the vote share considerably,” Muralidharan said.

Moreover the BJP could poll over one lakh votes in Kozhikode and Thrissur.

BJP state general secretary K Surendran could garner over 1,72,826 votes.

In Pathanamthitta constituency, M T Ramesh garnered 1,38,954 votes. Sobha surendran, national executive member, could get 1,36,557 votes from Palakkad.

Senior leader and national executive member C K Padmanabhan got 1,15,760 votes in Kozhikode constituency. In Thrissur constituency, K P Sreeshan got 1,026,81 votes.

In Ernakulam, A N Radhakrishnan could not cross the one-lakh mark. He got 99,003 votes. In Chalakkudy constituency, B Gopalakrishnan got 92,848 votes.

In Attingal, S Girijakumari got 90,528 votes. In Alathur, V Shijumon got 87,803 votes. P R Ramsilnath got 80,752 votes in Wayanad constituency.

In Mavelikkara constituency, P Sudheer  got 79,743 votes.

In Kannur constituency, P C Mohanan Master got 51,636 votes.

However, BJP supported candidate in Kottayam Noble Mathew could mange to get only 44,357 votes.

In Alappuzha constituency, A V Thamarakashan could get only 43,051 votes.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

twenty − 20 =


Latest Articles from Kerala Focus

Did You Know?