BJP Victory in Thrissur-A Major set back to ruling LDF

published on February 22, 2008

BJP wins Thekkinkad

THRISSUR: In the byelection to the Thekkinkad division of Thrissur Corporation, BJP candidate N. Prasad was declared elected with a margin of 358 votes. The BJP candidate bagged 1,217 votes in his favour.

The LDF-supported independent candidate T.R. Ravichandran secured 859 votes while the UDF candidate P. Radhakishnan polled 605 votes. Independent candidate Paul Thottan got 6 votes. 19 votes were invalid.

The byelection to the division was necessitated by the death of former councillor T. Jayan, who had won the poll with a margin of 17 votes.

Reacting to the victory of BJP candidate, BJP district president Sreeshan Adiyat said that the election results are a clear indication of the growing popularity of BJP in the district.

Political observers here felt that the victory of Prasad is a major setback to the LDF, which ruled the Corporation.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

eight − two =


Latest Articles from Kerala Focus

Did You Know?