BJP return to power in Himachal Pradesh

via HK published on December 28, 2007

NEW DELHI : The Bharatiya Janata Party today stormed back to power in Himachal Pradesh routing Congress in the Assembly elections.

BJP won the Himachal Pradesh Assembly election with a comfortable margin by winning 41 seats out of 68 seats. After Gujarat verdict, the Himachal result is another shock to the ruling Congress & UPA

P K Dhumal (63), who is poised to become the Chief Minister for the second time, led the saffron surge winning from Bamsan in Hamirpur district beating his schoolmate and Congress candidate Col(retd) B C Lagwal by 26,000 votes.Pream Kumar Dhumal thanked the public for their faith on BJP.

“After the election victories in Himachal and Gujarat, I feel the people of the country have come to a conclusion that only BJP can give good governance,” BJP chief Rajnath Singh told reporters in Delhi

Javdekar said the people have accepted BJP’s twin planks of nationalism and development. “It is a positive mandate and BJP will be victorious in the assembly elections next year,” he said.

Celebrations by BJP / Hindu activists are continuing across the state.

Himachal Poll Results (68/68)

BJP- 41
Cong- 23

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

16 − ten =


Latest Articles from Kerala Focus

Did You Know?