BJP releases list of candidates for the assembly elections

via Mahadev published on March 30, 2006

The BJP has released the list of 128 candidates for the coming assembly elections to the Kerala Assembly to be held in three phases.


The party has given representation to women and youth in the list which has many new faces.

While 11 women have found place in the list, 10 are from the SC and five from the minority community.

The veteran leader and former Union Minister, Mr O Rajagopal will contest from Palakkad, while the Pattika Jathi Morcha national leader, Mr Kainakary Janardhanan will fight from Kilimanoor. The prominent woman candidate, the NDA Convenor, Prof Jayalakshmi is the candidate for Thiruvananthapuram North.  Mr V U Ravindran and Adv Narayana Bhatt are the nominees for Kasargod and Manjeswaram respectively.


The Yuva Morcha State President, Mr K Surendran will fight from Thalassery. State Vice-Presidents Adv Mohan Shanker and Mr P M Velayudhan will contest from Kodungallur and Aluva respectively.  Prof Mathew Paily is the party’s  candidate for Mattancherry.

The list of candidates for the remaining 12 constituencies would be announced later, party sources said.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

eighteen − six =

Latest Articles from Kerala Focus

Did You Know?