BJP to field 134 candidates, support independent in Thiruvananthapuram

via Mahadev published on April 3, 2006

The BJP will field 134 candidates of its own and back an independent candidate Mr Jyotheendra Kumar in Thiruvananthapuram East constituency for the Assembly elections to be held in three phases.

Speaking at a face to face programme organised by the Thrissur Press Club today, the party State President, Mr P S Sreedharan Pillai said that the remaining five seats had been allotted to the NDA ally JD (U).

He said that there would be “no leakage” of the party’s votes in the elections, as the party had learnt a lesson from the Thiruvananthapuram Parliamentary elections where its votes were shifted to others, leading to a humiliating defeat of the party’s candidate.

The BJP election manifesto, which would be released on Apr 06, would give importance to the state’s cultural identity.

The Janata Dal (U) would field its candidates in Parasala, Punalur, Irinjalakuda, Koduvally and Edakkad.

Mr Pillai expressed the hope that the party would put up a tough fight in certain constituencies while registering an overall better performance. “We will open our account in the assembly”, he added.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

11 − six =

Latest Articles from Kerala Focus

Did You Know?