A New Chapter in Kerala History: BJP Members Assume Charge in Thiruvananthapuram Corporation

via Courtesy: Janmabhumi published on November 15, 2015

Thiruvananthapuram: Ushering in a new epoch in Kerala history, 35 elected members of Bharatiya Janata Party assumed charge in Thiruvananthapuram corporation. The swearing in ceremony of elected councilors began with Dr Vijayalakshmi, who happens to be senior most, having been elected from Poojapura ward. The oath was read out by district collector Biju Prabhakar. This was followed by the other 99 elected representatives taking oath.

BJP council member Karamana Ajith took his oath in Sanskrit, which happens to be the first time an elected representative of a local body was taking oath in Sanskrit.

All the 35 elected representatives of BJP took their oath in the name of God, following which they paid salutations to Bharat Mata, the motherland. The first council meeting was held, presided over by Dr Vijayalakshmi. .

The council hall was packed with members of the BJP fraternity, who ensured that slogans of ‘Bharat Mata ki Jai’ and ‘Vande Mataram’ resounded way above the flimsy cries of the workers of Congress and CPM.

Welcome to Haindava Keralam! Register for Free or Login as a privileged HK member to enjoy auto-approval of your comments and to receive periodic updates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 characters available

two × 3 =

Latest Articles from Kerala Focus

Did You Know?